Riina Ammesmäki

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jessica

PostSubject: Riina Ammesmäki   Wed Apr 22, 2015 3:27 pm

Interviewed by Jessica Clingempeel
4/22/2015

Official Link

First, tell us a little bit about yourself? When did you decide you wanted to be a singer? Have you gone to any schools for training?

I studied classical piano for many years. When it took more and more time to practice, I realized it was not my passion. I had always enjoyed singing in choirs etc, but had never realized singing could be my career. At 16, I took my first singing lesson - and I was hooked, lol. Later I studied to be a professional pop & jazz singer.

Besides vocals, do you play any other instruments?

I used to play the drums, but unfortunately have not played in many years. I also still play piano a lot. When I was around 13, I played the clarinet for a while.

Are you more of the solo type or would you like to join a band someday? What style(s) of music are you interested in doing?

I have a cover band called Darlings, but I am the only soloist. I also sing in a pno/voc duet with self-produced backings, it is called Top40Lounge Ensemble. On top of those I sing both backing vocals (mostly in the studio) and solo gigs ranging from progressive metal to dance music. Depends on the project.

What musician(s) have inspired you?

Whitney Houston, Beyoncé, Aretha Franklin - and of course Tarja Turunen!

I heard you have recorded a song for Eurovision. What was it like?  Have you written others?

I love writing music! It lets me go through different thoughts and emotions and then express them through the lyrics and the music. I made an album in 2010 under the name Reena Darlin, called "I'm Here". The so g for the Eurovision song contest didn't become Finland's representative, but it was still great fun. J

What kind of covers, if any, would you record? Any from Tarja? Wink